Welcome to GUBU.ie - if you're new here check out Housekeeping for more info. Any queries contact us.

Thistles

Clurickeen

Thistles

Post by Clurickeen »

Question from novice farmer here. Have closed off about 20 acres for round bales. Grass growing nicely and should be ready to cut during next dry spell of weather. This is my first year to do this so it's all very new. One thing I notice is the huge amount of thistles in the field, they are literally everywhere. From reading online I think nettles are OK in bales but what about thistles?
I plan to sell the bales so don't want to sell them if they're bad quality or does the presence of thistles affect the quality.
Thanks!
CelticRambler
Verified Username

Re: Thistles

Post by CelticRambler »

Can't say from first-hand experience, but in these parts we landowners have a legal obligation to take all reasonable measures, from 1st May to 31st October, to destroy them for the sake of the region's farmers. :(

They are, however, a relatively good nutitional supplement for cattle, sheep and horses, so if you're keeping the bales for your own livestock, it should be grand. If you're selling it, I think it'd be sensible to declare their presence in the bales before you shake hands on the deal - not so much for the problems it might cause any animals that eat them, but if the seed heads somehow get spread on someone else's pristine pasture, you might be subjected to the evil eye. :?

As for clearing them off my own land ... I may have missed a few. ;)
Clurickeen

Post by Clurickeen »

CelticRambler wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 10:22 pm Can't say from first-hand experience, but in these parts we landowners have a legal obligation to take all reasonable measures, from 1st May to 31st October, to destroy them for the sake of the region's farmers. :(